Election Official

Nomination Petitions

Nomination petitions for the November 2, 2021 election can be picked up on Tuesday, August 3, 2021 at City Hall, 128 Main Street, Cañon City, CO 81212.  Petitions must be filed with the City Clerk no later than 5:00 p.m. on August 23, 2021.

A candidate’s petition must be signed by at least 25 registered voters who reside within City limits.  No qualified elector shall nominate by petition more than one candidate for each office to be filled.  If the seat petitioned for has a candidate’s residency requirement, all signatures on the petition shall be from residents of that specific district of the City. Refer to the district map to ensure the signature is within the appropriate district boundaries.

Offices To Be Filled By Election

At the City of Cañon City General Municipal Election on November 2, 2021, the office of Mayor and three of the seven Council seats will be up for election.

The office of Mayor is for a two-year term.  There is no district residency requirement. 

Each of the Council seats is for a four-year term.

  • 1 seat - Mayor (2-year term)
  • 1 seat  - District 1 seat (4-year term)
    (Candidate must live within the boundaries of District 1)
  • 1 seat - District 3 seat (4-year term)
    (Candidate must live within the boundaries of District 3)
  • 1 seat  - At large (4-year term)
    (Candidate must live in the City, but there is no district residency requirement).

In determining a district residency requirement, the City election district map will determine if a potential candidate meets district residency requirements. The district map is available at https://canoncity.maps.arcgis.com.

Candidates should confirm residency eligibility with the City Clerk prior to announcing their candidacy.  

Election Date

Tuesday, November 2, 2020 - Election Day

Designated Election Official

Cindy Foster Owens, City Clerk
128 Main Street, P.O. Box 1460
Cañon City, CO 81215-1460